Manawatu Maths Teachers Association

Fostering Mathematics Education in Manawatu

  • NoE Newsletters

Term 4 2019   Term 3 2019  Term 2 2019   Term 1 2019  Term 4 2018 

ESS Newletter 

The Term Four round for PLD proposals close shortly across the country. If you are thinking of applying for PLD hours for 2020, ESS facilitators can provide free support for your school, kura or Kāhui Ako to develop a proposal. If you would like support please contact us.

Wellington: Applications close 23 October.
Taranaki, Whanganui, Manawatu: Applications close 13 November.
Hawkes Bay: Applications close 31 October.

Network of Expertise [NoE] Contract:

Exciting news: 

We have recently been allocated centrally funded PLD money to help us connect and assist mathematics teachers.  Our local region, within this Network of Expertise contract, consists of Taranaki, Manawatu and Hawkes Bay.  

FOCUS: To use teacher networks and expertise to help raise confidence and capacity of our members

Join our MMTA – NoE  Facebook group to keep up with NoE opportunities

Taranaki, Whanganui, Manawatu and Hawkes Bay [TWMH] Regional Kaiarahi 

NoE Regional Steering Committee

Manawatu representatives: Selina O'Leary (MMTA President), Angela Cameron (MMTA Secretary)

Taranaki representatives: Sandra Parry (TMA President), Barb Costello (TMA committee)

Congratulations to our regional NoE and MMTA NZAMT16 scholarship recipients

Misbah Sadat, Horowhenua College

Ruth van Leeuwen, Nga Tawa

Tracy Mudd, Nelson Park school, Napier

Evgenia Kern, Stratford High School

Cami Sawyer, Massey University, MMTA Committee

  • MathsCraft workshops - sponsored by NoE funding

If you have a network of at least 4 schools interested in this workshop; See the MathsCraft Workshop Flyer  for more details

We are interested to hear from you

What do you think are priority areas to fund to help raise confidence and capacity of teachers within our region?

What regional expertise do you have/ know of that can be shared with our teachers

Contact our MMTA committee or Sharon Church at